The BRIT Awards – bring it on….

Dare I say it out loud…..? The world is returning to some sort of semblance of what life was like pre Covid……? I do realise this is not the case and in fact, there are literally millions of people struggling at the moment. For some, life will never be the same. For some, life will go on, a little differently than before, and for many, things will only have small tweaks of different. What will always endure is our entertainment industry, so what more do we crave when things are tough but something to give us hope, laughter or just plain old silly amusement. Hence the BRIT Awards were held and the celebs came out to hit the red carpet once again.

Oh Tay Tay – you nail it time after time Darl…. I mean who else could pull off a sequinned embellished bustier and floor length matching skirt better than Taylor Swift. Her limbs literally seem to go on forever and she always has a flawless face. Well done.

Taylor Swift

Dua Lipa – very happy with her award – well done. However, Dita Von Teese wants her lingerie back! If you are going to go for this look, it has to be done head to toe (pardon the pun….) Not just a short frock and stockings. The frock itself is meh and those shoes are actually a health hazard – just ask Lady Gaga! It’s a NO from me Dua darl…..

This is “quite London”, apparently. Picture: David Benett/Getty Images

Little Mix – so help me I do not know who these three are. What I do know is that the chick in the middle is clearly wearing a Westwood, is not pregnant and actually looks the best. The other two look like they took a wrong turn at tacky maternity wear and cannot be saved. Focus on the chick in the middle until the other two fade away….

Leigh-Anne Pinnock, Jade Thirlwall, and Perrie Edwards of Little Mix pose with their British Group award in the media room

Olivia Rodrigo – now this strapless lady like length tulle frock is heaven. It’s Dior so of course it’s fab. Personally I think her hair should have been an up-do to show off the top of this frock’s bodice. It could have been perfection, except for those hideous black clunky shoes! Tragic is the only word I have for them!

Olivia Rodrigo poses in the media room

Griff – I am assuming this is not the name on her birth certificate – made this frock herself. What a gal. Someone gave her some fabric, some clear beads and a glue gun and said “go for it” so she did……Maybe the head piece started out as a skirt and instead of draping fabric over it, she decided to put it on her head to keep people from being able to hug her. Some sort of self made social distancing device……? As for those shoes and socks – I cannot look at that again. Once was enough.

15-0 to Griff. Wait no, that’s tennis. Picture: JMEnternational for BRIT Awards/Getty Images

Seems Griff made herself 2 outfits for the awards – this one was created with a pair of less than sharp scissors and a kit where one can attach their own metallic trims. It’s a disaster.

Griff poses with the BRITs Rising Star award in the media room

Raye – said to her stylist “I’ve always wanted to imitate Marilyn Monroe when she did ‘Diamonds are a girls best friend'” and her stylist (probably) begrudgingly complied. Hence we have this hot pink creation with silver diamante accesses and footwear. I am not liking the red toe polish or red lips at all.

Raye attends The BRIT Awards 2021 in a Marilyn Monroe-esque off-shoulder gown with matching gloves

Clara Amfo – it appears that on the way to this event Clara found herself a little chilly in her slip of a sequinned frock, so she asked her limo driver who was a very large man, for his jacket and he obliged. My Tip for you Darl, is to take off his jacket before you hit the red carpet. Those shoes are quite fab though….

Clara Amfo poses in the media room during The BRIT Awards 2021

Maya Jama – now I want to hate this because on the face of it, a cropped zip up jacket with a beaded hem and matching skirt with the same sound dreadful when said out loud, but I actually find myself not hating it. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think it’s fab, but I don’t think it totally bad either. Perhaps I am more accepting of the frock, because I freaking love those shoes!!! If only she could stand confidently in them, like shoe owns it….

 Maya Jama poses in the media room during The BRIT Awards 2021

Celeste – oh hell no Darl!! Have you been to the Muppets set and killed one for this frock? I look at this and am expecting to see a wonky Muppet eye peeking out somewhere screaming “Save me”……. Look away now folks!

Celeste poses in a short feathered dress and stockings in the media room during The BRIT Awards 2021

Tallia Storm – I am unsure if that’s her real name or not, but if it is, she certainly likes to embody her surname in her look! This is a polyester work suit being worn by every 20 something in the world at their first office job. Perhaps this little poppet is making use of her suits so she gets maximum value per wear out of them. Those shoes are a health hazard and also very ugly. There I said it….

Tallia Storm poses in the media room during The BRIT Awards 2021

Mabel – yes, just the one name thank you very much. Will somebody call the National Ice Skaters Society – the stolen costume they thought had been forever lost from the Ice Skaters frock archives, has been found!!

Mabel arrives at The BRIT Awards 2021

This frock may be Balmain but it’s a big NO from me. Does she not realise it’s been done, and done again and now nobody wants to see this done again. We are all still recovering from Rhianna and her attempt at Frou Frou OTT.

Rina Sawayama

Maisie Williams – oh sweetheart who did this to you? Did someone say it would look good? Perhaps they said, it makes you look older and more fashionable. Or even that you can rock it and pull off what no one else has done. They ALL lied. This is just not right.

Maisie Williams onstage during The BRIT Awards 2021

Lianne La Havas – I always think it’s fun when a celebrity sees a musical, in this case, Cats, and then says “I have found my inspo for the awards ceremony” to her stylist. And she also found time to take a trip to the Ugly Shoe department in her local trash wear store…..

Lianne La Havas poses in the media room during The BRIT Awards 2021

We all know my never ending love of a cape, and this is no exception. The sheer chiffon cape is fab. Those long black leather gloves are not. There is simply too much fabric on this frock. I would have like to have seen a shorter, and less voluminous frock. I know she is pregnant but that doesn’t mean she has to shroud herself in black fabric. Also. back away from the liquid eyeliner Darl….

Jessie Ware. Picture: David Benett/Getty Images

The man who probably started it all – Boy George – he has never stopped wearing more eye makeup than most of the women he stands next to, and now that he has a bald head, he is never seen without his signature hat and it suits him. This is a fairly toned down look for him, but I still think he adds a bit of flair when he attends anything.

Boy George poses in the media room

Adam Lambert – Oh I do love this guy! He is unashamedly out there, loves his eyeliner and is rocking this Dolce & Gabbana animal print suit. Those heels are incredible and he just rocks it like he wears them everyday. The only curious thing I am finding is the armadillo like fingerless gloves he’s wearing. I could have done without them Adam – but you are fab nonetheless.

Adam Lambert poses in the media room

Harry Styles – you are so freaking fab I can’t stand it. And no that is not just a middle aged woman speaking in an inappropriate manner about this gorgeous young lad. I love his androgynous look and I love that he wears head to toe Gucci and owns it. That hand bag is the best!

Harry Styles

Olly Alexander – I have no idea who this lad is but his Gucci suit is quite something! Those feathered sleeve trims are what one would call an ‘extreme statement’ of feathers. Personally I am loving the fact he wore a pale blue short under black and white. It makes a nice change and as for his leather harness – unusual, but hey, if it saves him time later when he’s undressing for the rest of his evening activities, it’s a win win right…..?

Olly Alexander poses in the media room

Billy Porter – takes the award for the boys who dress better than some women category with his black lace and satin frock! The hay is pure brilliance in it’s over the top side jaunty position and those boots!! OMG – Billy I hope tere was not an ankle injury in these!! Fab, fab, fab.

Billy Porter attends The BRIT Awards 2021

MNEK – I have NO idea what those initials stand for and I have NO idea who did this to him. It’s like he was assaulted by the pale blue fabric fairy and his magical pleating machine. I do not like it at all. In fact, the term ‘too much is just too much’ comes to mind.

MNEK

And finally – these gals were on their way to the annual BDSM get together down the road and thought they would pop in, steal the show with a quick photo opp before collecting their whips and continuing their journey…..

Headie One (C) poses in the media room with during The BRIT Awards 2021

So, there you have it Gals and Pals – the BRIT Awards 2021 have been run and won. I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised by the boys at this event – for effort that is. Till next time. x

Leave a comment